Writing as catharsis

The inevitable end

Posted in Philosophy, Ranting and rambling by Lachlan R. Dale on November 21, 2011

I have foretold this a hundred times before, if not thousands more in the running stream of my consciousness. I feel like I can feel her hand slip ever so slowly from my own. It’s all playing out in one of those overly dramatic Hollywood scenes; I hold onto her on the edge of the cliff. Our eyes are locked. We are in a state of full consciousness, fully aware of the inevitable end. My arm strains, though not through any want of releasing her. It is her hand that is perceptively slipping from mine by the smallest of degrees.

This is, of course, the inevitable end. I feel I know this story as if it were an old folk tale, engrained on human consciousness and playing on the very core of the human spirit. I accept, but I do not submit – not that it would in any way delay the outcome.

In some ways, it is beautiful. The fact that I have been lucky enough to have loved brings a resonance of happiness and joy to my soul. But we only truly know things in this brief existence by the recognition of their opposites. You are not truly happy unless you have been truly miserable – this I completely believe. It’s an ideal that, along with the recognition, acceptance and savouring of the tragedy of life, I attempt to fully commit myself to in reverence to the inevitable end.

Leave a Reply

